How to delete your Instagram account permanently, or deactivate it temporarily
  • Post category:How Tos
  • Post comments:0 Comments
  • Post author:
  • Post published:28/04/2021
  • Post last modified:28/04/2021
  • You can delete your Instagram account permanently on the account deletion page.
  • If you think you might want to recover your Instagram account later, you can also deactivate it temporarily.
  • To delete or deactivate your Instagram account, you’ll need to use a web browser, not the app.
  • This story is part of Business Insider’s Guide to Instagram.

Instagram is one of the most popular social media sites around — and one of the most addicting. If you want to tone down your Instagram habits, you can always delete or deactivate your Instagram account.

The difference between the two options is that deleting your Instagram account is permanent, while deactivating is temporary and lets you get your account back later.

Here’s how to do both.

Instagram notes that it’ll take a month for your data to be fully erased. Until then, your account will just be hidden from public view.

How to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily

If you think you want to recover your Instagram account later, you should disable it temporarily: 

1. Log into your Instagram account on the web and go to your profile page, then click “Edit profile” at the top of the page.

Click the “Edit profile” option above your bio.
William Antonelli/Insider

2. At the bottom of the page that opens, select “Temporarily disable my account.”

The option to disable your account will be at the bottom of the page.
William Antonelli/Insider

3. Select a reason that you’re disabling your account, and re-enter your password.

4. Click “Temporarily Disable Account.”

Give a reason and your password.
William Antonelli/Insider

To reactivate your account in the future, simply log back into the Instagram app with your username and password. 

Leave a Reply